Wilderness Rendezvous Memorial Scholarship

The Memorial Scholarship

Established in memory of Scouters who have Gone Home, the Wilderness Rendezvous (WR) Memorial Scholarship provides qualified individuals with post-secondary educational funding of a total of $500 per year, subject to applying each year. Recipients must exhibit both academic competence and exemplary ongoing service to Wilderness Rendezvous and Scouts Canada.

History of the Scholarship

The concept of a Scholarship program for the participants of the Wilderness Rendezvous came about as the result of a bequest in Memory of Scouter Gerald Miller. Scouter Gerald was a long-time supporter of WR and a firm believer in continuing education. He spent a lot of his time at camp working with the youth to enhance their outdoor skills. When Scouter Al Torgerson had Gone Home a further bequest came from his passing, Al was another long-term Scouter and a strong supporter of the camp. The staff of WR feels that the Scholarship is a way that Gerald and Al’s work can be continued even though they have Gone Home. WR envisions the Scholarship as a way to encourage younger staff members to return to the camp each summer, thus giving WR the continuity to continue to grow the program and yet maintain the balance between the old and the new. The program began in 2015 and is part of Wilderness Rendezvous ongoing legacy for many years to come. The spirit of the Scholarship is intended for younger Scouting members beginning their post-secondary education.

Scholarship Guide and Application Form 

Applications are due June 21st each year.   

Scholarship Guide

Scholarship Application Form

Past Scholarship Winners 

Year Scholar Place of Study 
2015  Mitchell Martel  University of Regina 
2016  Riley Martel  University of Regina 
2017 Michael Stankey  College of the Rockies 
2018  Mackenzie Hay  University of Regina 
2019  Michel Belanger  Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT)   
2020  Not awarded  — 
 2021 Gwen Park  Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT)   
2022 Wes Ewart Medicine Hat College
2023Not awarded